Tutorials

MOTD: Orange Crush

Last week my lovely friend Hannah did a fun piece for xoVain in which she created a couple of really fun and beautiful makeup looks based on ‘Parks and Recreation’ character Leslie Knope. Both looks were fantastic, but I was especially inspired by the vibrant colors she used in her first look. I play with bright colors a bit, but I usually stick with vibrant blues, greens, and purples. I decided this time around to use bright colors that I typically shy away from; neon orange and hot pink.

After I primed my lids I took a small, flat shader brush and a matte, neon orange shadow (from the Viseart Editorial Brights Palette) and applied it all over my lids to just above the crease, tracing it out into one large wing shape. The Viseart palette is $$ but totally worth it if you’re into bright shadows (read here for a cheaper alternative and review). I really like to use the flat brush for this because it deposits more color and helps me to create sharper shapes.motd-orange-1

To add a little dimension to the lid, I used the other side of that same brush and applied a warm, shimmery gold shadow (MAC Amber Lights) to just the center of the lid.motd-orange-2

Next I lined my upper lash line with Urban Decay Razor Sharp Eye Liner in Fireball (a peach/pink duochrome) and then tightlined my upper lashline.motd-orange-3

Next I lined the lower lash line with black gel liner and then smudged it out with a hot pink shadow (also from the Viseart Editorial Brights Palette).motd-orange-4

I finished the eyes off with a couple of coats of mascara on the upper and lower lashes and by adding Amber Lights to the inner corners of my eyes.motd-orange-5I wanted to keep the orange theme going so I used an orange-toned blush and an orange-red lipstick to complete the look. I also popped a little bit of Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Poured in Opal on the high points of my cheekbones and above my cupid’s bow.

motd-orange-6
On the cheeks: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Diffused Heat. On the lips: Karen Murrell Natural Lipstick in Rymba Rhythm applied with the fingers for a sheer wash of color.

I did the lip a bit more sheer in these photos, but if you want to see it applied with more coverage check out my Instagram pic of the look.

Do you wear bright makeup at all? What are your favorite colors to use when you’re doing bright looks? Let me know in the comments below!

Love and Hugs,

Tamara

8 thoughts on “MOTD: Orange Crush

  1. Love it, especially with the orangey blush! I haven’t done bright makeup in a long while, but orange shadow was one of my go-to’s in my early 20’s, I just love how orangey-pink hues seem to look good on everyone!

  2. I am so in love with this electric phoenix realness. It’s amazing. I really love how Fireball razor liner looks over the oranges. I have two autumnal palettes from Morphe just delivered today (Fall Into Frost and the all matte Nature Glow) and this is REALLY making me want to play.

    1. How do you like the Morphe palettes? And have you gotten to experiment with your new colors yet? I’m interested in perhaps purchasing these palettes and was curious of your opinion!

  3. Lovely!!!! I like bright blues and greens, as well as oranges. I actually have the look on my eyes now, but I’m not sure it’s possible to upload a pic. The pigmentation is intense, and this looks gorgeous on you. Love how you combined the pink with the orange, too!

Leave a comment