Makeup · Tutorials

MOTD: Soft Smokey Eyes

My go-to look every day as of late has been easy on the eye makeup, relying mainly on lipstick to pull everything together. I recently moved and as I was packing up all my makeup (two boxes worth y’all), I realized I was missing some of my more dramatic looks. It just so happened that I made plans to go see a late movie with friends this weekend, and since I hadn’t really been out of the house much except to go to the gym, work, or church I thought, why not use this as an excuse to put a little more effort into my makeup?

After I primed my lids with the e.l.f. eye lid primer, I used a fluffy blending brush (Sigma E40) to apply a matte warm transition shade to my crease and slightly above using small circular motions (Makeup Geek Creme Brulee is my favorite for this). Chocolate smoke 1

Next I took a firmer blending brush (MAC 217) and applied a matte warm red-brown shade (Makeup Geek Cocoa Bear) to the crease from the outer corner of my eye to about midway across.Chocolate Smoke 2

I used that same blending brush and applied a matte chocolate brown shade all over my lid (Urban Decay Naked Heat-Ashes). I like to use a blending brush for this because it makes the shade look softer and I can build it up to whatever level of darkness I want.Chocolate Smoke 3

With a dark brown eye pencil (Makeup Geek Full Spectrum Eye Pencil in Espresso), I lined across my upper lash line, and lower water line, all the way across.Chocolate Smoke 4

With a small crease brush (Makeup Geek) I smudged the upper lash line with a matte black eye shadow (Makeup Geek Corrupt) and then used the same shade I used on the lid to smudge the lower lash line.Chocolate Smoke 5

After applying my complexion makeup (routine coming soon), mascara, and filling in my brows (updated brow routine also coming), I used a tapered blending brush (Sigma E35) to apply a matte light peach shadow to my brow bone to highlight (Makeup Geek Peach Smoothie).

Chocolate Smoke 6

I finished the eyes by adding a shimmery highlight (Makeup Geek Shimma Shimma) to the inner corners with a small tapered blending brush (Sigma E45).chocolate smoke 7

I like a little pop of shimmer in an all matte eye look, it really brings out my eyes!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I finished the look with some light contouring and highlighting and a nude lip (MAC  lip  pencil in Whirl and MAC x Taraji P Henson Strip Me Down).

Chocolate Smoke 10
I also put a little bit of a peach gold lip gloss just in the center of the lips.

Products used but not mentioned:

Face-

Mac Strobe Cream in Pinklite 

Maybelline FitMe Matte Poreless Foundation in Golden Caramel

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Lines Foundation in Rich

Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer in SX11

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Poreless Finish Powder

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop

Makeup Geek Blush in Chivalry

Brows-

NYX Eyebrow Powder Pencil in Brunette

What is your go-to going out look? Do you like smokey eyes or do you prefer to go more neutral?

 

 

One thought on “MOTD: Soft Smokey Eyes

Leave a comment