Makeup · Tutorials

MOTD: Antique Rose

I’ve been in a bit of  a makeup rut lately I think. Actually scratch that, rut seems too negative. Basically I’ve been doing the same makeup look almost every day for the last few months, and although I like the look (it’s easy and quick), I’ve just been itching to play around a little bit more. I’ve been experimenting with different colors in the last week or so, but I’ve also just really loved doing some monochromatic looks as well! I LOVE all things dusty rose, I seriously have about 10 lipsticks that fall into that category (I swear they’re different lol), so this look is all about keeping everything in that color range!

I always do my eye makeup (save for liner and mascara) before my foundation because I’m a hot mess and can’t be trusted not to get eye shadow fallout all over the place. Since I have pretty oily lids, I use a primer on my eyes to start (my favorite is Urban Decay Primer Potion, but e.l.f. has a great one too if you want a cheaper option). Next I take a fluffy blending brush (Sigma E40) and apply some bronzer to my crease. I use the same brush to apply a deep, matte burgundy shadow in the crease as well, blending out in circular motions.

Rose in bloom 1
I used Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer followed by Colour Pop Pressed Powder Shadow in Cute Alert (this shadow is categorized as burgundy but reads dusty rose on me when applied over the bronzer).

I wanted a hint of shimmer in this look, so I took a semi-sheer, rose gold highlighter and applied it to my lids with my pinky finger.

rose in bloom 2
This was a limited edition highlight, so just pick your favorite rose gold shade

On a stiff blending brush (Sigma E25) I applied some of that burgundy shadow to my lower lash line, concentrating most of the pigment to the outer third.

rose in bloom 3
Sorry for the quality of this pic, but you get the general idea.

I finished the eyes by lining my upper lash line with a dark brown pencil liner (only dragging it about 2/3 of the way in), smudging out with a pencil brush, and applying black mascara to my upper and lower lashes.

rose in bloom 4
Brush is from Sonia Kashuk

After applying foundation and concealer, I filled in my brows, added a shimmery highlight (Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Opal), and a dusty rose blush (Juvia’s Place The Saharan Vol II Blush Palette in the shade Bee). I finished with a dusty rose lip liner and lipstick!

rose in bloom 6
Lips: Lined with MAC Lip Pencil in Whirl followed by Colour Pop Blur Lux Lipstick in Lucky Strike
Rose in bloom 5
I also decided to add a little highlight to the inner corner of my eyes with rose gold and ivory shimmer shadows (Colour Pop Pressed Pigment in High Strung and Makeup Geek eye shadow in Shimma Shimma).

 

I’m thinking this might be my new go-to, I love how a monochromatic look can really make everything really pull together!

What’s your go-to look? What looks do you like to play with in the summer?

2 thoughts on “MOTD: Antique Rose

Leave a comment